المصطلحات والتعاريف

المنظمات التي تعرف نفسها جزءا من الحكومة السورية الموقتة أو التابعة للحكومة السورية والمنظمات التي تتبع مباشرة لتنظيمات حزبية، والتنظيمات التي لها ذراع عسكري أوتم إثبات تورطها في أعمال عنف، وكذلك المنظمات الموالية للتنظيمات المسلحة المتطرفة كالدولة الإسلامية أوجبهة النصرة.

يقصد بها "المجالس المحلية ومديريات الصحة" وهي شكل بيني وغير واضح كونها تملك هيكلية مستقلة ومجلس إدارة أو إشراف وتمويل مستقلين بها لكنها تعرف نفسها تابعة للحكومة السورية الموقتة وهيئاتها أو التي تتولى أعمالاً هي من شان المؤسسات الحكومية كمديريات الصحة والتربية-.

لم يتم إدراج المشاريع التي تعتمد وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي كمخرج وحيد وذلك لصعوبة تصنيفها واعتمادها وعدم القدرة على إنشاء محددات لقياس جودة المعلومات ومهنيتها وتأثير الصفحة ضمن إطار البحث الأولي، ونقوم بإعادة نظر في المعلومات المتوافرة لحوالي الثلاثة ألاف صفحة مهتمة بالشأن السوري منها حوالي الأربعمائة صفحة فاعلة ذات محتوى واضح (غير معتمدة على نسخ المحتوى من جهة أخرى) ليتم إدراجها في التقرير المعمق، كما إننا ندرس إمكانية إدراجها في تقرير منفصل خاص بصفحات التواصل الاجتماعي والمجال الإعلامي، كما أنه سيخصص جدول في الموقع لإظهار معلومات هذه الصفحات والوصول إليها كونها نوع مهم من المبادرات وخاصة في مجالي الإعلام والمناصرة.

المنظمات ووسائل الإعلام التي لم تقم بنشاط يحمل اسمها منذ أكثر من ستة أشهر من تاريخ بدء البحث (1\6\2015) أو تنشط فقط لمدة محدودة.

يشير مصطلح المجتمع المدني وفقاً لتعريف البنك الدولي، إلى المجموعة واسعة النطاق من المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات غير الربحية التي لها وجود في الحياة العامة وتنهض بعبء التعبير عن اهتمامات وقيم أعضائها أو الآخرين، استناداً إلى اعتبارات أخلاقية أو ثقافية أو سياسية أو علمية أو دينية أو خيرية.

غير أن باحثين آخرين كالدكتور عزمي بشارة يرى أن مصطلح المجتمع المدني يتجاوز المنظمات غير الحكومية وبخاصة في ظل الوعي السياسي الجديد المتشكل جراء الربيع العربي. غير أننا ولغايات التحديد والتأطير سنلتزم التعريف المعتمد في البنك الدولي.

هي منظمات غير ربحية وغير حكومية وغير حزبية وتعمل في الشأن العام٬ والتي تعبر عن قيم أعضائها على اعتبارات ثقافية أو علمية أو دينية أو سياسية أو خيرية.

وضعنا تعريف اجرائي  لغرض هذا البحث لمنظمة المجتمع المدني السوري بأنها كل مؤسسة غير ربحية وغير حزبية وغير حكومية وغير عنيفة لها طابع سوري واضح حيث يكون معظم أعضاء إدارتها سواء في مجالس إدارتها أو في إدارتها التنفيذية من السوريين. ونشاطها الرئيسي موجه نحو القضية السورية بالدعم أو الحشد، أو تقديم الخدمات للسوريين في سوريا ودول الجوار أو مع مجموعة إثنية أو اجتماعية من السوريين أو منظماتهم غير الحكومية والأهلية ولا يؤثر الوضع القانوني للمؤسسة على اعتبارها منظمة مجتمع مدني سورية.

في السياق السوري يبدو تعريف منظمات المجتمع المدني و الفاعلين المدنيين بشكل عام في غاية الأهمية لحداثة تكون هذا المجتمع المدني من ناحية وللاختلاط المفهوماتي حوله من ناحية أخرى٬ إذ أنه وفي غياب سلطة الحكومة المركزية فإن غالبية المؤسسات العاملة في المناطق الخارجة عن سلطة الحكومة تعمل وفق آليات متشابهة للغاية. ذلك أن العديد من المجالس والهيئات تتخذ بنى تشابه في تكوينها بنى منظمات المجتمع المدني. على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، فإن مديرية صحة أدلب (ذات المهام الحكومية) تنتخب مجلس أمناء من قبل أطباء محافظة أدلب ليقوم هذا المجلس بتعيين مدير للصحة، لا ترتبط هذه المديرية بأي جهة حكومية أخرى وتقوم بتحصيل تمويلاتها عن طريق مانحين ولا ترتبط بأي جهة سياسية أو ربحية وبالتالي تبدو هذه المؤسسة غير ربحية وغير حكومية وغير حزبية وغير عنفية مما يجعلها منظمة مجتمع مدني بحسب تعريف الاتحاد الأوروبي والبنك الدولي.

إلا أننا في هذا البحث سنعتمد على تعريف الاتحاد الأوروبي الذي أضافه إلى معيار أساسي أن لا تقوم هذه المؤسسات بأدوار حكومية. عليه فإن المنظمات المشمولة بهذا المسح لا تضم مؤسسات مثل المجالس المحلية ومجالس المحافظات والمدن ومديريات الخدمات العامة كالصحة والزراعة والتربية إلخ.

هي تجمع لمواطنين بهدف حل مشكلة معينة لم يتم حلها من قبل الهيئات المسؤولة عن طريق أنشطة جماعية تهدف للضغط على الحكومة أو الاستجابة لأمر طارئ، وليس بالضرورة أن يكون لها هيكلية وعنوان واضحين وتأخذ قراراتها بشكل جماعي.

المنظمات ذات الصبغة الدولية أو التابعة للأمم المتحدة

العينة والمنهجية

هدف البحث إلى شمل جميع منظمات المجتمع المدني في سوريا ما أمكن، وبالتالي لم يكن الغرض أخذ عينة محددة صغيرة انما الحصول على أكبر قدر من الجمعيات لتكون ممثلة للمنظمات المجتمع المدني السورية . غير أن هذا الأمر بدا صعباً للغاية لعدة أسباب أولها وأهمها قضية الوصول والأمان. فعملية جمع بيانات المنظمات في الأراضي التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة المركزية مسألة في غاية التعقيد قد تتسبب بمخاطر أمنية على جامعي البيانات. كذلك الأمر في المناطق التي تسيطر عليها الدولة الإسلامية أو ما يسمى ب "داعش". بالتالي فقد اعتمد الفريق على الوصول إلى أكبر قاعدة بيانات في جميع المناطق ما أمكن.

كل الأسباب سابقة الذكر دفعت الباحثين الى جمع البيانات المطلوبة بطرق مختلفة ومتنوعة تتناسب مع الواقع الفعلي القائم في المنطقة التي يتم مسحها. وعليه، لم يقتصر جمع البينات على مصدرٍ وحيد وهو الراصد (جامع البيانات) إنما تم الاستعانة أيضاً بالمعلومات المتوفرة من خلال المسح السابق الذي تم من قبل منظمة مواطنون لأجل سوريا بالإضافة الى المعلومات التي توفرها بعض المنظمات الشريكة الموثوقة.

قد عمل على انهاء عملية المسح و التدقيق ما  يقارب الثمانين شخصا منهم 48 راصدا و مشرفا من اعضاء المنظمة و تم الاستعانة براصدين مؤقتين في بعض الاماكن خضعوا كلهم لتدريب مبدئي حول جمع البيانات و أسئلة و هدف الاستمارة. تم اختيار فريق البحث بناء على نشاطهم السابق و تقبلهم في المجتمع المحلي و بين المنظمات.

أما فيما يخص المصدر الأساسي في جمع البيانات المطلوبة فقد تم من قبل افراد المؤسسة المدربين على جمع المعلومات المطلوبة بالشكل الصحيح والمناسب بعد التأكد منها وتصحيحها وتنقيحها، ونورد فيما يلي المصادر الأولية والثانوية لعملية جمع البيانات:

عن طريق إجراء مقابلات مع مصادر البيانات الرئيسية من منظمات ومؤسسات وفرق عمل سورية:

  • مقابلات مباشرة مع المنظمات: قام بها الراصدون أو مدراء المناطق في أماكن عمل المنظمات و في بعض الحالات الخاصة عبر الإنترنيت.
  • الملاحظات المباشرة للراصدين: حيث يتوزعون على المحافظات السورية ويدير كل فريق محلي ومسؤول منطقة بالإضافة لفريق تركيا ومكتب المنظمة، حيث تجمع معلوماتهم ضمن منصة إلكترونية تمت برمجتها خصيصا لهذا المسح ليتم تدقيقها ومقاطعتها مع باقي المصادر من قبل مكتب تدقيق البيانات ليشرف على معالجتها وإظهارها مركز المنظمة الأساسي في برلين.
  • المعلومات المنشورة عن المنظمة عبر وسائل اتصالها الرسمية
  • معلومات مقدمة من شركاء المنظمة من الشبكات والمنظمات السورية الفاعلة
  • معلومات منشورة عن عمليات مسح سابقة
  • المسح الإلكتروني غير المهيكل والذي طُبق خاصة على منصة فيسبوك وجزئيا على منصات ثانوية أخرى.

شمل هذا البحث المؤسسات المعرفة مسبقا والمبادرات الأهلية أو مبادرات النشطاء والتي لها اسم محدد وطريقة رسمية للاتصال  معها، وتم استبعاد كل مما يلي (راجع فقرة المصطلحات والتعاريف):

  • المنظمات الدولية وأفرعها في سوريا.
  • المنظمات الحكومية.
  • المنظمات شبه الحكومية.
  • المجالس المحلية والمديريات الخدمية .
  • المشاريع المتواجدة فقط في مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي "الفيس بوك وتويتر".
  • المنظمات غير الفاعلة.

و يدرس البحث نتائج استبيان تحديد كفاءة المنظمات ل748 منظمة سورية تحقق معايير البحث و ملئ اغلب أسئلة استبيان تحديد كفاءة المؤسسة (حوالي المئة سؤال) و رفضت حوالي المئتي منظمة المشاركة لأسباب متعددة و نعتقد بوجود حوالي 75 منظمة لم نستطع الوصول اليها.

قسمت سوريا إلى   قطاعات جغرافية:

  • القطاع الشمالي: محافظات حلب وإدلب وريف اللاذقية الشرقي وريف حماة الشمالي
  • المناطق الكردية:محافظات الحسكة ومنطقة تل بيض في الرقة و منطقتي كوباني (عين العرب) و عفرين في حلب
  • القطاع الاوسط: دمشق وريفها وحمص وحماة
  • القطاع الجنوبي: درعا القنيطرة
  • مناطق سيطرة الحكومة: السويداء و  دمشق المدينة و حماة و حمص و حلب المدينة و محافظات اللاذقية و طرطوس

أشرف على كل قطاع مدير منطقة مع عدد من الراصدين يقوم الفريق بجمع البيانات من المصادر المذكورة مسبقا والتحقق من توافق المعلومات، كما أشرف مدراء المناطق على جمع البيانات عن المنظمات الموجودة في دول الجوار.

بعد إنهاء الراصد إدخال معلومات المنظمة أو المنظمات في المنطقة التي يعمل بها، يقوم المشرف بمراجعتها مراجعة أولية من ناحية تناسق المعلومات ومنطقيتها وملئ الحقول المطلوبة بشكل صحيح. ان كان هناك خلل ما يقوم بإعادتها للراصد للتحقق. ثم يتم تحويلها لمسؤول التحقق الذي يقارنها بمصادر اخرى قد تكون قوائم مقدمة من الشركاء أو علاقات أخرى مع أشخاص فاعلين في المنطقة. في حال كانت هناك فجوات في المعلومات، يقوم مسؤول التدقيق بإعادة الملفات لمدير المنطقة المسؤول لإعادة التدقيق فيها.

تم الاعتماد أيضا على قوائم مقدمة من الشركاء ونتائج بحث عمومي على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعية التي قام بها القسم التقني باستخدام تقنيات بحث عامة في الانترنيت و وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والذي ساعدنا باكتشاف العديد من المنظمات خاصة تلك التي تعمل في الخارج ومقارنة الموجودة لدينا من قبل الفريق او الشركاء.

وللتأكد من صحة المعلومات المطلوبة تم مقارنتها مع الملفات المقدمة من الشركاء والمعلومات المنشورة على الإنترنت بعد أن تم مراجعة البيانات وتدقيقها من قبل كل من:

  • الراصد المحلي(مراجعة أولية أثناء جمع البيانات).
  • مدراء المناطق(تدقيق بيانات الراصدين).
  • وحدة التدقيق(تدقيق بيانات مدراء المناطق).
  • وحدة فهرسة البيانات (لتدقيق الأخطاء في الفهرسة والتصنيف).

تم جمع البيانات بشكل أساسي في الفترة ما بين 1\10\2015 و 21\3\2016 و تم تمديد الفترة لاحقا إلى 15\9\2016 لاستكمال و تحديث البيانات خاصة في المناطق ذات الوصول الصعب، كما عمل الفريق على تنظيف البيانات و تصحيح الأخطاء الحاصلة و أثناء جمع البيانات و تحديث بعض البيانات العامة  إلى بداية 2017 قبل إنهاء التقرير.

Terms & Definitions

The term “Civil Society” according to the World Bank refers to the wide array of non-governmental and not-for-profit organizations that have a presence in public life, expressing the interests and values of their members or others, based on ethical, cultural, political, scientific, religious or philanthropic considerations. Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) therefore refer to a wide array of organizations: community groups, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), labor unions, indigenous groups, charitable organizations, faith-based organizations, professional associations, and foundations.”

On the other hand, researchers like prominent intellectual Dr. Azmi Bishara believe that the term “civil society” extends well beyond the limits of the strict definition of NGOs, especially considering the state of political enlightenment that spread in communities across the region as a result of the Arab Spring protest movements. However, for the purpose of this study, we will adopt the World Bank definition of CSOs, which encompasses all non-governmental, non-partisan and non-profit organizations.

For the purpose of this research, we decided upon the following definition for “the Syrian Civil Society Organization”: A Syrian CSO is every non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental and non-violent institution that possesses a clear Syrian identity in terms of  its managing members being all Syrian citizens. Its main activity is aimed towards the Syrian cause whether it be through endorsement (advocacy), lobbying, providing services to Syrians in Syria and neighboring countries or institutions that target a social or ethnic group of Syrians that include Civil and non-Governmental Organizations in a manner that does not affect its legal standing as to being a Syrian Civil Society Organization.

In the Syrian context, the need for an accurate definition of Civil Society Organizations takes on a very important dimension, due on the one hand to the recent emergence of this nascent society, and on the other to the misconception surrounding it. With the absence of a Central Government, the majority of organizations operating in areas that are outside the control of the regime all follow similar operational mechanisms due in part to numerous factors among which the fact that a large number of councils and governing bodies adopt organizational structures that greatly resemble those of Civil Society Organizations. One such example is Idlib's Directorate of Health (which provides governmental services), in which the process entails electing a secretary council comprised of the province's doctors that, in turn, appoints the head of the Directorate of Health. Owing to the fact that this directorate has no ties to any governmental party, receives funding independently through donors and is not affiliated with any political or profit-oriented organization, all of the aforementioned signifies that this particular organizational body fulfills the European Union's definition of a Civil Society Organization by being a non-profit, non-governmental, non-partisan and non-violent organization.

However, in addition to the EU definition of a Civil Society Organization, we will use an additional criteria that excludes bodies  that undertake roles traditionally associated with governmental organizations for the purpose of this research, and thus excluding from this mapping project institutions such as Local, Provincial and City Councils, and Public Services Directorates (health, agriculture, education, etc.).

Comprised of an assembly of citizens who aim to work towards solving a certain issue that hasn’t been resolved by official institutions, by partaking in collective activities that aim to pressure the government, or to an urgent matter. Civil Initiatives do not have clear hierarchical structures or titles, their decisions are unanimously determined.

Organizations that are recognized international bodies or are United Nations subsidiaries.

These are organizations that define themselves as being part of the Syrian Interim Government (SIG) or the Syrian Central Government or they are organizations which are directly linked to party groups and ones that have an armed wing or were proven to have been involved in acts of violence, in addition to organizations that supports extremist armed factions  such as the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) and al-Nusra Front.

This term refers to the “Local Councils and Health Directorates”, which represent a  transitional and vague structural formation owing to the fact that these types of organizations possess an independent hierarchy and an administrative board or independent supervision and funding. However, they identify as auxiliaries of the Syrian Interim Government (SIG) and its governing bodies which undertake duties that normally fall under the jurisdiction of governmental institutions such as the directorates of health and education.

Projects that are solely reliant on social media platforms as their only outlets have not been included in this report due to challenging classification, debatable credibility and inability to create content quality measuring criteria, or establish the level of  professionalism for each of the pages, in addition to their influence within the frame of primary research, we are reviewing available information for over three thousand Syria-related pages, among which are four hundred active pages that share original content (do not rely on copying content from another source) to be included in the in-depth report. We are also considering the potential of including them in a separate report dedicated to social media pages and media outlets, additionally there will be a graph on the website that displays data about these initiatives and links to them due to their significance, particularly within the domains of both media and advocacy.

Organizations and media outlets which have not been active for over 6 months since the beginning of this research dated 1/6/2015 or organizations that are only active for a limited period of time.

Methodology

This research aims to include as many Syrian CSOs  as possible, therefore the purpose was not meant to incorporate a narrow sample, it was to include as many organizations as possible in order to be representative of all CSOs in Syria. However, this task has proven to be exceptionally difficult due to various factors, most notable being difficulty gaining access into certain areas in addition to security concerns. The data collection process is extremely complicated in regime-held areas putting its conductors under great risk of being incarcerated. Similarly, collecting data in ISIL-controlled area is a precarious task. Therefore, the CfS team attempted to depend on the data they had most access to.

All the aforementioned considerations have prompted researchers to follow different and various data gathering methods befitting the current reality in surveyed regions, thus the data- gathering process was not only limited to one source (the observer/data collector),but another approach has also been applied by making use of available data that is derived from previous surveys conducted by CfS, in addition to other information provided by reliable partner organizations.

A team of around 80 people worked on the survey and the cross-examination process, 48 of whom are observers and administrators from the CfS team, as well as a number of temporary observers in some areas, who have all received  basic training in the subject of data collection procedures as well as being well-educated on the research’s goals. The team members have been all selected based on their previous activities in civil work and their favorable status among local communities and organizations.

As per the main data source from which the information included in this report have been drawn, the process has been conducted by trained members who received sufficient training on the principles of data collection, which consists of fact-checking, cross-examination, and data review. Below we demonstrate the main and secondary sources of the data collection process:

Primary data has been gathered by conducting interviews with the primary data sources, such as organizations, institutions and Syrian work teams

  • Direct interviews with organizations: conducted by the observers or the regional representatives, in CSOs’ operation areas or in some cases the conferences were held online.
  • Immediate Remarks made by the observers: A number of observers are spread across every Syrian province and each local team is managed by a regional official in addition to the Turkey team and the organization’s head office. Data is compiled into an electronic platform in order to be examined and cross-examined against other sources, this task is undertaken by the data inspection office, which in turn forwards it to be later processed and presented by the organization’s main headquarters in Berlin.
  • Info shared by organizations through their official public channels.
  • Information provided by CfS partners, such as networks and active Syrian organizations
  • Available data  obtained from previous surveys.
  • Electronic surveys and Data harvesting which was applied to Facebook in particular and partially on other secondary platforms.

This research includes above mentioned institutions, civil and activist initiatives which have a defined name and an official means of communication, excluding the following organizations (view terms and definitions section)

  • International Organizations and their branches in Syria
  • Government Organizations
  • Quasi-governmental Organizations
  • Local Council and Health Directorates
  • Social media-based projects (Facebook and Twitter)
  • Inactive Organizations

This study examines the results of competency evaluation survey for 748 Syrian organizations that meet the standards of our survey which responded to the survey and answered the majority of the questions (100 questions), while around 200 organizations refused to take part in the study, in addition to 75 organizations we were unable to reach.

For the purpose of this research Syria has been divided into 3 geographical regions as follows:

 

  • Northern Region: it includes the provinces of Al-Hassaka, Dei-Ezzor, Al-Raqqa, Aleppo, Idlib, Lattakia Countryside and northern countryside of Hama
  • The Central Region: Damascus and its countryside, in addition to the provinces of Homs and Hama.
  • The Southern Region: Daraa, Qunietra and Al-Sweida’a

Each region has been overseen by one leader  and a number of observers who work together as a team  in order to collect data from the aforementioned sources and check their credibility.  Team leaders  also gathered data from organizations based in neighboring countries.

After the observer has completed the data insertion process for one or multiple organizations in a certain region where they are appointed, the supervisor/leader conducts a primary review to ensure the that information is cohesive, reasonable and that all required fields in the table are properly filled. In case of an error the leader returns the document to the observer in order to recheck it.  Consequently the info gets transferred to the examination officer who in turn compares it to other available  data obtained from different sources which are sometimes lists provided by partners or through referrals from active figures in the region, in the case that  gaps are present in the material the examination officer passes it back to the regional team leader in order to reassess it.

The study has also relied on lists provided by partners in addition to a general social media survey results conducted by the technical team based on general internet and social media research techniques, a process that helped locate numerous organizations especially those which operate outside the country, in addition to helping us draw comparisons with available data that was provided by our team and partners.

In order to analyze the required information and compare them with the documents provided by our partners and data published online, a revision has been performed by the following parties:

  • Local Observer (primary review during the data collection stage)
  • Regional team leader (checking local observers' data)
  • examination unit (examining regional team leaders' data)
  • Data indexing unit (checks for errors in indexing and classification)
Durations of the study

The data has been mainly collected during the period between 1/10/2015 and 21/03/2016, however, the duration of the survey was pushed back until 15/09/2016 in order to ensure all the data from areas that are difficult to access is complete and fully-updated. Additionally, the team worked on refining the data and correcting errors that occurred during the collection stage as well as updating the general data up until the beginning of 2017 when the report was concluded.